

Australian Greyhound Racing Association

MEDIA RELEASE 6th February 2017 Big Daddy Bee Stings Opposition in Derby Final - While Striker Light Wins Futurity

By Jeff Collerson GRNSW Website

Big Daddy Bee (\$9.30) delivered owner Jason Bateup a \$10,000 bonus on top of his \$75,000 first prizemoney when he scored an upset win in Saturday night's Ladbrokes National Derby at Wentworth Park.

Trained by Ray Smith of Forbes, Big Daddy Bee ran down fastest heat winner Nangar Rock (\$4.80), from the Dennis Barnes kennels at Cudal, to win by just over a length in a smart 29.74.

Favourite Lightning Frank (\$2.80) came from fourth in the middle stages to cut Black Hole Sun out of the minor prize money.

Big Daddy Bee's owner is a swimming pool concreter from Penrith and before the Derby heats were held he placed \$50 on his dog with the TAB at the mammoth odds of \$201 - a \$10,000 result.

"I bred Big Daddy Bee from my bitch Winning Charm," Bateup said. "While I have had a couple of handy greyhounds previously I had not had much luck with the dogs until Big Daddy Bee came along," Bateup said.

Ironically Dennis Barnes educated Big Daddy Bee on behalf of Bateup and Smith.

"This is the second year in succession I have finished second in the Derby," Barnes lamented. "Last year my dog Nangar Flame chased home Noelene Holloway's Magic Spring in the final.

"But I'm happy with finishing second, especially as it took another NSW western districts greyhound to beat me!"

Unlucky runner in the Derby was the Angela Langton-trained Hit The Highway, a renowned powerful finisher who jumped smartly but lost all chance when his kennelmate Duty Free ran him off the track approaching the first turn.

"I was worried that might happen when Duty Free drew box two and Hit The Highway drew three because Duty Free is a wide runner," Langton said later.

Dennis Barnes also had a hand in Saturday night's other Group 1 final, the Ladbrokes National Futurity, as he bred Pretty Fancy, dam of the winner Striker Light.

"I sold Pretty Fancy to Molong breeder Toby Weekes and he in turn sold Striker Light to her owner George Farrugia," Barnes said.

Striker Light (\$2.60) led throughout to win Saturday night's Futurity final, scoring by nearly three lengths from fastest qualifier, fellow Victorian Up Hill Jill (\$2.30), who chased the winner all the way.

Striker Light's overall time of 29.74 for the 520m was identical to the figures posted by Derby winner Big Daddy Bee.

Striker Light's trainer Brett Bravo was not surprised that his greyhound produced dazzling second and third splits of 13.70 and 17.78 on Saturday night.



Striker Light winning at Sandown Park

"She bungled the start when she took 30.46sec to win her Futurity heat and I knew she could go a lot quicker if she jumped as well as I know she can," Bravo said.

"One night at Sandown Striker Light came out 'under the lids' and recorded a first split that was only a tick outside the fastest ever run there, by none other than Fernando Bale.

"Striker Light is a tenacious chaser who nailed the start tonight and she got to the line better than in her previous Wentworth Park races, running home in her personal best figures of 11.96."

Ray Smith narrowly missed a winning double when the irrepressible Brad Hill Bill chased home the upand-coming Ruth King-trained Eisenhower in Saturday's Free-For-All, 520m.

After the placed runners in the Derby the field finished in the following order 4th Black Hole Sun (\$8.80), 5th Good Odds Bricky (\$36.40), 6th Duty Free (\$9.40) 7th Hit The Highway (\$6.80) and Dyna Boomer (\$9).

Big Daddy Bee is raced by Jason Bateup and trained by Ray Smith, he is a Brindle dog whelped January 2015 by Kinloch Brea from Winning Charm (Just The Best x Hearts War). Big Daddy Bee has won six of his 18 starts and has been placed on six occasions and with the \$75,000 first prize for the National Derby it took his current stake earnings to \$89,225.

After the first two placed runners in the Futurity the field finished in the following order 3rd Daithy Allen (\$14.90) 4th Andrea Doria (\$11.40), 5th Mainline Osti (\$10.20), 6th Princess Pout (\$19) 7th Red Calibre (\$30.90) and Jody Lee Kade (\$25).

Striker Light is raced by George Farrugia and is trained by Brett Bravo, she is a Black bitch whelped March 2015 by Kc And All from Pretty Fancy (Brett Lee x Sweet Fancy). Striker Light has won nine of her 13 starts and has been placed on two occasions and with the \$75,000 first prize for the National Futurity it took her current stake earnings to \$110,270.

The National Derby was first run in 1963 and was a long-time Group 1 flagship event for the NCA's at one time was worth \$100,000 to the winner. The club changed its direction a few years ago making the St Ledger

better known as the Paws Of Thunder the richer of the two events settling on \$75,000 to the winner for the Derby and Futurity. Both event are now conducted by the GBOTA. Listed below is the full honour roll.

1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Flying Myobb, 1965 Chariot Charm, 1966 Roman Earl, 1967 Mister Moss, 1968 Second Stage, 1969 Abbey Road, 1970 Arthur's Desire, 1971 Bomber's Gift, 1972 Young Moss, 1973 Rushin' Moss, 1974 Steelflex, 1975 Steelflex, 1976 Baguio, 1977 Chief Holly, 1978 True Leader, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 General Jeff, 1981 Handicap, 1982 Lord Tegimi, 1983 World Park Ned, 1984 Inch Time, 1985 Rapid Supreme, 1986 Holstein Boy, 1987 Shy Sultan, 1988 Clover Chief, 1989 Worth Doing, 1990 Master Hilo, 1991 Pretty Tardy, 1992 Little Denver, 1993 Major Gossip, 1994 Indian Dance, 1995 Dallas Man, 1996 Cattle Drive, 1997 Comrade In Arms, 1998 Mepunga Blaze, 1999 Hahn Bale, 2000 Fond Regards, 2001 Mean Bean, 2002 Medinah, 2003 Greasy Grizzly, 2004 Pacific Sky, 2005 Eiffella, 2006 Brother Knows, 2007 Slater, 2008 Borat, 2009 Fedex, 2010 Elite Blue Size and 2011 Bogie King, 2012 Sure As, 2013 Jagger Swagger, 2014 Zipping Brock, 2015 Fernando Bale and 2016 Magic Spring

The National Futurity is was a time honoured flagship event for the NCA first run in 1964 it has been won by some wonderful sprinting bitches' over the years most of which continued to carve out outstanding race careers. Listed below is the full honour roll.

1964 Cultured Girl, 1965 West Opal, 1966 Miss Lane, 1967 Pearl Moss, 1968 Rocket Bridge, 1969 Anne Lewis, 1970 Tidal Mist, 1971 Top Saba, 1972 Spanish Dancer, 1973 Likely Light, 1974 Tintawin, 1975 Night Aim, 1976 Woolley Wong, 1977 Little Fresh, 1978 Tearaway Owl, 1979 Baretop Girl, 1980 Beaumaris Sue, 1981 Zany Zen, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Winifred Bale, 1984 Turbo Top, 1985 Sophistication, 1986 Flash Jass, 1987 Expensive Lee, 1988 Tiger's Sunset, 1989 Mary Casey, 1990 Gozo Nicoloa, 1991 Just Jedda, 1992 November Sunset, 1993 National Night, 1994 Mystery Idle, 1995 Tar Dinn, 1996 Holiday Belle, 1997 Rare Missile, 1998 Fine Devil, 1999 Crystal Light, 2000 Junoesque, 2001 Queen Muffin, 2002 Hotshow Lil, 2003 Lissiloo, 2004 Nulkaba, 2005 Lukeamy 2006 Jinderra Flame, 2007 Bralyn Maisie, 2008 Elite Oriental, 2009 Digital Magic, 2010 Daydream 2011 Crystin Bale, 2012 Midnight Capers, 2013 Sometimes Speedy, 2014 Rue De Kahn, 2015 Zipping Midge and 2016 Cash In Motion.

> For more information please contact: Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838